The old coal dock - the new Puerto Arte.

Originally, the quay was built to "resupply" ships that ran aground on coal. When the use of coal for maritime transport ended, the quay was still used for unloading fertilizers, etc. But for more than 30 years the area has been relegated. With the transformation of Havana Bay from industrial use to a cultural-touristic orientation, the place has acquired a new meaning. The Puerto Arte project is the anchor project of this development which is supervised by a commission of several Cuban institutions. The view from the gondola of the captive balloon offers completely new perspectives from a height of up to 150 m above the old town, which is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the historical fortifications as well as the new developments in the bay.

Best Location - Best
Accessibility.

The Puerto Arte dock is located in the center of historic Havana, which is divided by the entrance channel of the Atlantic Ocean in the bay, next to the old city and the side of Casablanca with the fortifications. Its own traffic concept, consisting of ferries, shuttle buses and a revitalized pedestrian bridge to the fortress, ensures the best possible connection.  The most important part of the traffic concept will be the ferries themselves (up to 200 people). In a cycle of a few minutes, the boats will move back and forth across the approximately 300 m wide canal during the entire period of operation. This will make it easier for guests from the old town and other districts of Havana to visit Puerto Arte. The cruise terminals are only 500 m away from the ferry pier.

In addition to the ferry, a connection to the existing bus transfer to the Havana fortress, which is the largest in the Americas and one of the 5 best views in Latin America, is also planned. With the activation of the old staircase of the fortress and the ferry, Puerto Arte will create an additional added value for tourism and the inhabitants of Havana.


Own economic area - production of creative ideas

An economic area is planned at a distance of about 2.5 km from the pier of Puerto Arte as the heart of the whole project. All logistics will be carried out on approximately 50,000 square meters of the area. Offices and workshops for maintenance and production (stage, events, merchandising) will be located, as well as a large preparation kitchen. Creative people will also find the possibility to realize their ideas together with the Puerto Arte team in the workshops, the studios (cinema, IT, graphics, sound, etc.) The site can be expanded further.

Der ehemalige Kohlekai - der neue Puerto Arte.

Ursprünglich wurde der Kai zum „betanken“ auflaufender Schiffe mit Kohle gebaut. Mit Ende der Kohlenutzung für die Schifffahrt wurde die Anlage noch zum Entladen von Düngemitteln etc. verwendet. Doch seit über 30 Jahren verweist die Fläche. Mit der Umwandlung der Bucht von Havanna weg von der industriellen Nutzung hin zur Kultur-Touristischen Ausrichtung bekommt der Standort eine neue Bedeutung. Das Projekt Puerto Arte ist Ankerprojekt dieser Entwicklung die von einer Kommission aus verschiedenen kubanischen Institutionen betreut wird. Der spätere Blick aus der Gondel des Fesselballons bietet aus bis zu 150 m Höhe ganz neue Perspektiven auf die zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehörenden Altstadt und die historischen Festungsanlage, sowie die neue Entwicklungen in der Bucht.

Beste Lage - Beste
Erreichbarkeit.

Der Puerto Arte-Kai liegt im Zentrum des historischen Havannas, das durch den Einfahrtkanal vom Atlantik in die Bucht in die Altstadtseite und die Seite von Casablanca mit der Festungsanlage geteilt wird. Das eigene Verkehrskonzept aus Shuttle-Fähren, Shuttlebussen und ein wiederbelebter Fußgängerweg in die Festungsanlage sorgt für beste Anbindung.  Wichtigster Bestandteil des Verkehrskonzeptes werden die eigenen Fähr-Shuttle (bis zu 200 Personen) sein. In einem Takt von wenigen Minuten pendeln die Boote über den ca. 300 m breiten Kanal während der gesamten Betriebszeit hin und her. Damit wird den Gästen aus der Altstadt und anderen Bezirken aus Havanna der Besuch des Puerto Arte erheblich vereinfacht. Die Kreuzfahrtterminals sind nur ca. 500 m von dem Anleger des Fähr-Shuttles entfernt.

Neben dem Fähr-Shuttle ist natürlich auch eine Anbindung an den ohnehin schon vorhandenen Bustransfer zur Festungsanlage von Havanna geplant, die die größte in ganz Amerika ist und zu den Top 5 der Sehenswürdigkeiten in Lateinamerika zählt. Mit der Aktivierung der alten Treppenanlage in die Festung und dem Fähr-Shuttle, entsteht mit dem Puerto Arte also zusätzlich ein Mehrwert für den Tourismus und Einwohner von Havanna.

Eigenes Wirtschaftsareal - Produktion von kreativen Ideen.

Zu dem Puerto Arte Kai ist in ca. 2,5 km Entfernung ein Wirtschaftsgelände als Herz des gesamten Projektes geplant. Auf der ca. 50.000 qm großen Fläche erfolgt die gesamte Logistik sind Büros und Werkstätten für Wartung und Produktion (Bühne, Events, Merchandising) sowie eine große Vorbereitungsküche angesiedelt. Auf dem Gelände finden auch Kreative die Möglichkeit in den Werkstätten, den Studios (Film, IT, Grafik, Sound etc.) ihre Ideen gemeinsam mit dem Team von Puerto Arte zu realisieren. Das Gelände kann weiter ausgebaut werden.