Puerto Arte: 30,000 square meters of art, culture, history, architecture, music, dance...

The original approach was to let a captive balloon rise in Havana analogous to Berlin, Paris, Orlando and other cities of the world. The possibilities of this were discussed with Cuba in several meetings. This preparation culminated in June 2016 with the launch of a location study by the planning office of the old city of Havana. From a total of five possible locations resulting from the study, the parties involved selected the old coal dock, opposite the old city, directly at the entrance to Havana Bay, as the ideal location in December 2016.

The area of the former coal pier with about 30,000 m2 corresponds to more than 10 times the area needed for the captive balloon. It was, therefore, a good idea to think about the future: Berlin architect Peter Kurz and Jens Meier-Ewert (one of the shareholders of BERmeeCU GmbH) developed the idea of the Puerto Arte concept. In addition to the balloon, other elements have been added. In numerous discussions with various institutions in Havana, this further development was presented, which finally led to the Ministry of Culture MINCULT together with the partner company EGREM becoming the Cuban partner for implementation in the summer of 2018.

In the first stage, the project comprises an investment volume of 65 million euros. The duration is 25 years and can be extended. The financing of this project in Cuba will be carried out entirely by BERmeeCU as a foreign partner. Annual sales of 40 million euros are expected at the start/opening. The opening is scheduled for 2023.

 

The execution.

The execution is carried out in three parts.

While the first part (the remodeling or preparation of the old dock, the access roads, the basic equipment for the ferries) and the second part (the preparation of the farm yard area) will be carried out in Cuba, the third part (the production of all the superstructures, as well as the acquisition of all the equipment) will be carried out in Europe. The investment for this is by far the largest part of the total investment.  Most of the superstructures consist of 40-foot containers, which will be completely assembled in Europe. Together with all components for electricity and water, event and stage technology, support structures, etc., all elements will be brought by ship directly to the dock and assembled there.

This project is supported by

Puerto Arte: 30.000 qm Kunst, Kultur, Geschichte, Architektur, Musik, Tanz .... 

Der ursprüngliche Ansatz war es, in Havanna einen Fesselballon analog zu Berlin, Paris, Orlando und anderen Städten der Welt aufsteigen zu lassen. In einer Vielzahl von Gesprächen wurden die Möglichkeiten dazu mit Kuba abgestimmt. Diese Vorbereitung mündete im Juni 2016 in die Beauftragung einer Standortstudie durch das Planungsbüro der Altstadt von Havanna. Von insgesamt fünf möglichen Standorten im Ergebnis der Studie, ist mit den Beteiligten der ehemaligen Kohlekai, gegenüber der Altstadt, direkt in der Einfahrt zur Bucht von Havanna als der ideale Standort im Dezember 2016 ausgewählt worden.

Die Fläche des ehemaligen Kohlekais mit ca. 30.000 qm entspricht mehr als dem 10-fachen des benötigen Areals für den Fesselballon. Es bot sich also an weiterzudenken – so haben der Berliner Architekt Peter Kurz zusammen mit Jens Meier-Ewert (einer der Gesellschafter der BERmeeCU GmbH) die Idee für das Konzept des Puerto Arte entwickelt. Neben dem Ballon sind eine Reihe von weiteren Elementen hinzugekommen. In zahlreichen Gesprächen mit verschiedenen Institutionen in Havanna wurde diese Weiterentwicklung vorgestellt, was letztlich dazu führte, dass im Sommer 2018 das Kulturministerium MINCULT zusammen mit dem dazugehörigen Unternehmen EGREM zum kubanischen Partner für die Umsetzung wurde.

Das Projekt umfasst in einer ersten Stufe ein Investitionsvolumen von 65 Mio. €. Die Laufzeit ist mit 25 Jahren angelegt und kann verlängert werden. Die Finanzierung dieses Projektes in Kuba wird komplett durch BERmeeCU als ausländischer Partner getragen. Der Jahresumsatz ist zu Beginn/Eröffnung mit 40 Mio. € geplant. Die Eröffnung ist für 2023 geplant.

Die Umsetzung

Die Umsetzung erfolgt in drei Teilen.

Während Teil eins – die Sanierung bzw. Vorbereitung der ehemaligen Kaianlage, Zufahrten, Grundeinrichtung für die Shuttle-Fähren und Teil zwei – die Vorbereitung des Geländes des Wirtschaftshofes – in Kuba umgesetzt werden, wird Teil 3, die Herstellung sämtlicher Aufbauen, sowie die Beschaffung der gesamten Ausstattung in Europa realisiert. Die Investition hierfür ist der deutlich größte Anteil an der Gesamtinvestition.  Die Aufbauten bestehen zum Großteil aus 40-Fuß-Containern, die fix und fertig in Europa ausgebaut werden. Zusammen mit sämtlichen Komponenten für das Thema Strom und Wasser, Event-/Bühnentechnik, Tragwerke etc. werden alle Elemente per Schiff direkt an den Kai gebracht und dort aufgebaut.

Unterstützt wird das Projekt durch